Find a Railroad

Board of Directors

John C. HellmannJohn C. Hellmann
Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer, Genesee & Wyoming Inc. 

John C. Hellmann joined the Company in January 2000 and served as Chief Financial Officer through April 2005. He was named President in May 2005, Chief Executive Officer in June 2007 and Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer in May 2017. Previously, Mr. Hellmann worked in investment banking at Lehman Brothers, Inc., in the Emerging Communications Group, and at Schroder & Co. Inc., in the Transportation Group. He also worked for Weyerhaeuser Co. in Japan and the People’s Republic of China.


Richard H. Allert
Retired, formerly founder of Allert, Heard & Co.
Chairman, Australia Committee
Member, Audit Committee
Member, Governance Committee

Mr. Allert has extensive public company Board experience in Australia, including as chairman of AXA Asia Pacific Holdings Limited from 2000 until its 2011 acquisition by AMP Limited and as chairman of Coles Group Limited, Australia’s second-largest retailer, from 2002 until 2007. He also previously served as chairman of the AustralAsia Railway Corporation, chairman of Southcorp Limited, chairman of Voyages Hotels & Resorts and chairman of Tourism Australia. A resident of Adelaide, South Australia, Mr. Allert is a Chartered Accountant and former Partner of Peat Marwick Mitchell & Co. He subsequently founded a specialist insolvency practice, Allert, Heard & Co., that was later acquired by Arthur Andersen. Mr. Allert has been a director of G&W’s Australian subsidiary, Genesee & Wyoming Australia Pty Ltd, since 2008.


Richard H. Bott
Retired, formerly Vice Chairman, Institutional Securities Group,
Morgan Stanley
Member, Audit Committee
Member, Compensation Committee

Mr. Bott previously worked in investment banking for more than 35 years at Morgan Stanley and First Boston/Credit Suisse First Boston (now Credit Suisse). His career began at The First Boston Corporation, and he held various positions there and at its successor companies over nearly 31 years, including the last five years as a Vice Chairman of Credit Suisse First Boston, followed by nearly five years in that same role at Morgan Stanley. He provided financial structuring and strategic advice to numerous large American and international corporations, with a focus on industrial and transportation companies. He currently serves on the Board of Directors of Lear Corporation.


Oivind Lorentzen IIIØivind Lorentzen III
Director and Vice Chairman, SEACOR Holdings Inc. 
Chairman, Governance Committee

Mr. Lorentzen was Chief Executive Officer of SEACOR Holdings Inc. from 2010 to 2015 and was President and Chief Executive Officer of Northern Navigation International, Ltd., an investment management and ship-owning company concentrating in specialized transportation and structured finance, from when he founded the company in 1990 through 2010. From 1979 to 1990, Mr. Lorentzen was Managing Director of Lorentzen Empreendimentos S.A., an industrial and shipping group in Brazil. He currently serves on the Board of Directors of SEACOR Holdings Inc. and Blue Danube Inc. Mr. Lorentzen is a member of the Council on Foreign Relations and the Norwegian-American Chamber of Commerce Inc. and a Trustee of the American Scandinavian Foundation.


Albert J. Neupaver
Executive Chairman of the Board, Wabtec Corporation
Member, Audit Committee

Mr. Neupaver joined Wabtec, a supplier of value-added, technology-based products and services for rail, transit and other global industries, in 2006 as president and CEO before being named chairman and CEO in 2013 and executive chairman in 2014. Previously, he oversaw several divisions of AMETEK, Inc., and held various engineering and operations roles at Pfizer, Inc. Mr. Neupaver is a graduate of the U.S. Naval Academy.


Michael Norkus
Founder and President, Alliance Consulting Group
Member, Compensation Committee
Member, Governance Committee

Mr. Norkus is the founder and President of Alliance Consulting Group, which specializes in developing growth strategies for companies in consumer goods, manufactured products, commercial services, high-tech and retail industries. He was previously a partner and director with The Boston Consulting Group. Mr. Norkus also serves on the Board of Directors of Acco Brands Corp.


Joseph H. Pyne
Executive Chairman of the Board, Kirby Corporation 
Member, Compensation Committee

Since 1984, Mr. Pyne has served in various roles for Kirby, the largest inland and offshore tank barge fleet operator in the United States as well as a leading diesel engine service provider, and its subsidiaries, including CEO, president, executive vice president and director.


Ann N. Reese
Co-Founder and Co-Executive Director, Center for Adoption Policy
Formerly Chief Financial Officer of ITT Corporation
Chairman, Audit Committee
Member, Governance Committee

Ms. Reese previously served as Chief Financial Officer and Treasurer of ITT Corp. She began her career with Bankers Trust and held positions in finance at Union Carbide and Mobil Oil before joining ITT. Most recently, she was a principal at Clayton, Dubilier and Rice. In 2001, Ms. Reese co-founded the Center for Adoption Policy whose mission is to remove barriers to adoption. She is a trustee of the University of Pennsylvania and is the chair of the Board of Overseers of the university’s School of Social Policy and Practice.  Ms. Reese is currently a director of Xerox Corporation, Sears Holdings and DTCC.


Mark A. ScudderMark A. Scudder
Chief Executive Officer and President, Scudder Law Firm, P.C., L.L.O.
Chairman, Compensation Committee
Member, Audit Committee

Mr. Scudder has represented public and private companies in a variety of mergers and acquisitions, financing transactions and general corporate matters, with particular focus on the U.S. trucking industry. Mr. Scudder has been Chief Executive Officer of Scudder Law Firm, P.C., L.L.O., based in Lincoln, Nebraska, since January 2010; President since December 2002 and has served as an attorney with the firm since 1993. He currently serves on the Board of Directors of Knight Transportation, Inc.


Hunter C. Smith
Chief Financial Officer, Rhythm Pharmaceuticals Inc. 
Member, Compensation Committee

Mr. Smith currently serves as Chief Financial Officer of Rhythm Pharmaceuticals, Inc. He previously served as Vice President and Chief Financial Officer for Celgene Corporation’s Inflammation and Immunology business unit. Prior to that, he held various roles during a 14-year tenure at Bunge Limited, a global agribusiness and food company, including Chief Financial Officer of two distinct business units, Corporate Treasurer and Chief Risk Officer. He worked previously in international banking with UBS AG and Manufacturers Hanover Trust Company.


Chairman Emeritus

Mortimer B. Fuller III 
Following his purchase of a controlling interest in G&W in 1977, Mr. Fuller served as Chairman and Chief Executive Officer until June 1, 2007, as Executive Chairman until December 31, 2009 and as Chairman of the Board of Directors until May 24, 2017. He also served as President of the Company from 1977 until October 1997. He was a director from 1973 to 2017. He is a great grandson of Edward L. Fuller, who founded the 14.5-mile Genesee and Wyoming Railroad Company in 1899 to serve his salt mine in upstate New York.

Directors Emeriti

James M. FullerJames M. Fuller
Retired, Harvey Salt Company



Louis S. FullerLouis S. Fuller
Retired, Courtright and Associates



Robert M. Melzer
Retired, Property Capital Trust



John M. Randolph
Financial Consultant and Private Investor



Philip J. Ringo
Strategy Consultant and Director